The Five Vayus Of Yoga – Know Here

Yoga has been a part of many world’s religions and cultures. This ancient art of uniting your mind, body, and soul to attain spiritual enlightenment has now become a global phenomenon. Thousands of years ago, yogis came to the conclusion their life force energy, known as prana can further be divided into Vayus.

There are a total of five Vayus with each of them carrying distinct energetic capabilities, functions, and the way each one flows. Ancient yogis were able to use this sacred power by directing their focus and awareness towards them. The conscious control of these subtle energies helped them maintain good health and improve overall well-being.

With that said, let us focus a bit more on what Vayus are.

Vayus – In Brief

The Sanskrit word Vayu translates to Wind. The root word Yu stands for ‘that which flows’. In the yogic culture, Vayu is an energetic force that moves in a specific direction and controls your bodily functions and other activities. There are a total of 49 Vayus that were found by earlier yogis out of which five are major ones.

Each Vayu controls a specific part of your body and functions in complete harmony with others. Their movement impacts your physical, mental, and emotional health and well-being. Any imbalance with a Vayu causes disharmony throughout the entire energetic system of your body. It negatively impacts the sacred chakra or the organs near it.

When you enroll in a yoga fitness center in India you would get the opportunity to know about these five Vayus namely Prana, Apana, Samana, Udana, and Vyana Vayu. However, remember that it is not important for you to gain complete mastery over these subtle energies to improve your health.

Simply developing a basic awareness of these would deepen your bodily awareness and yoga practice. With that said, let us check out the five different Vayus.

The Five Vayus

Given below are the five major Vayus you should know about.


Located in your heart, the Prana-Vayu energy pervades in the chest region. The word Prana-Vayu translates to forward-moving air and it flows inward and upward. It nourishes your brain and controls the reception of food, senses, thoughts, and air.

An important thing you should know about Prana-Vayu is it is an important energy in your body and directs all the other four Vayus. The chakra and element associated with this yogic wind are Anahata and air.

Any weakness in the flow of this energy weakens your mind, causes shortness of breath, anxiety, low energy, and weakens the immune system. You should enroll in a yoga fitness center to know more about this yoga wind.


This energy is located in the pelvic floor muscles and pervades the lower abdomen region of your body. The word Apana-Vayu translates into the air that moves away. The flow of this Vayu is downwards and out. Apana-Vayu nourishes your digestion, reproductive organs, and removes all toxins from your body.

An important function of Apana-Vayu is removing all waste from your body. This waste includes urine, stool, and carbon dioxide. The chakra and element associated with this energy are Muladhara and Earth.

An imbalance in this Vayu leads to weakness in legs and feelings of being ungrounded. It can also lead to issues with waste removal, or issues with your intestines, urinary tract, and kidneys.


Vyana-Vayu is located in your heart and lungs. It flows through your entire body. The word Vyana-Vayu translates to outward moving air. The direction of this subtle energy is from the center of your body to the periphery.

This Vayu controls the circulation of substances throughout your body and helps other Vayus in smooth functioning. The chakra and element associated with this Vayu are Svadhishthana and water.

Any imbalance in Vyana-Vayu creates feelings of separation and causes rambling and fluctuating thoughts. Moreover, you also become vulnerable to skin disorders, nervous breakdown, and impaired nerve stimulation. Enroll in a spiritual healing retreat in India to acquire in-depth knowledge of all Yoga Vayus.

Udana Vayu

Udana-Vayu is located in your throat and has a circular flow around your neck and head. The word Udana-Vayu translates to that which carries forward and this energy moves upward from your heart to the head, the five senses, and your brain.

The action of Udana-Vayu is metabolization. The chakra and element associated with this wind is Vishuddha and Ajna and the Ether element. Any imbalance in Udana-Vayu causes difficulty with speech, shortness of breath, and throat issues. Moreover, this also leads to a lack of self-expression, loss of balance, and uncoordinated movement.


Samana-Vayu is located in your abdomen and its energy is centered in your navel. The meaning of its name translates to balancing air and it flows from the periphery of your body to the center. It controls the digestion and assimilation of food, air, experiences, thoughts, and emotions.

This Vayu is associated with the Manipura chakra and the fire element. Any imbalance in this chakra leads to low confidence, low judgment power, and a lack of motivation and desire. It also causes a disturbance in your digestive system.


The Vayus are an essential part of the energy system present in your body. Any imbalance with any of these subtle energies creates an imbalance in your physical and mental health. You can join a reputed yoga fitness center to gather complete knowledge about these.